Navigation


* Profile
* New
* Old
* First
* Random

Credit


* Host
* Design

And the alien did decree: "there is no utopia"
12:23 AM - Tuesday, May. 11, 2010

Before the nonsense, & After the bullshit.

High - Sarah Slean

Sarah's in my bed tonight;
I won't be joining her.

She has an infestation her apartment, so, she's crashing here a while.

Spent Mother's Day at Mom's. Spent more time with my brother, though. I sort of think I'm hitting insanity again. Either that, or it was all the coffee making me goofy.

If there's anything I can note from Cherish's cycles, it's that she plunges soon after gaining clarity. I wonder if the same could be said for me.

It seems like a cocktease, dipping back in to insanity again; things had been going so well. I'm not sure whhyyyy I'm seeming to fall back. There's no stress.. no stress besides being discontent, maybe.

I'm bored of life at home -- as usual. After buzzing through The Critic in under a week, I feel that TV brings me little amusement. After looking online for more stuff, all I really found were top 100 lists, consisting of listings of Alias, The Hills, and rock star reality shows. Somehow, it made me infinitely annoyed to see Bill Maher and Boston Legal mentioned in the same lists. I know, people have different tastes -- but, hell, fuck me sideways.. I don't want to know that I have the same general tastes as someone who listed Friday Night Lights as the #2 favorite show of their list. Fucking hell.

I'm back to the idea of reading. I've got 4 on the go -- sigh. Beags, from my old journal, suggested I read classics. I think Beags, that what really stirs my mind's fancy is gritty general fiction. I like classics, but, fail to delight in them enough to read them regularly. I DO have a collection of Brontes I need to get to. I doubt I've read a single Dickens in my life. Sad, really. They get you to read Shakespeare in school, but, not Dickens. For that matter -- I feel that we demean good literature by teaching it in high schools as a play-by-play analysis. I don't want to crap myself with strain, coming up with what Huxley meant about some random sentence in A Brave New World. I want to read the bloody book, and chew it over a little.

I have good intentions with my reading, I really do. If Castro has taught me any lessons, it's that one should never trust information. Internet, books, radio, TV -- there is no absolute truth in any of them. I probably knew that, as a precocious preteen, but, as with all things, I'm relearning.

I'm stuck with a shiver of panic, every time I think of details. Castro, for a man of numbers, really downplays his death count. Odd thing for a (what the fuck is he?!) dictator, really.

Castro leads me to my conclusion of last year, and my reading of McQuaig: there is no utopia. There is no perfect system of government. Contrary to others' delusions -- we're all fucked.

Which, in turn, leads me to the whole 2012 thing. Y2K, much?

I foresee more of a social collapse of the structure. I doubt we'll see any intended revolutions. If our local protests have any bearing, then, there are very few things that people won't allow. In the case of my city, we pretty much had to have tar burning in order for anything to get stood for.

There's a lot of half-hearted protests against the HST (a tax; usually, most things are taxed 7%, now it will be 14% for damn near everything); lots of petitions. Who the hell gives a shit about petitions anymore? I'd recommend doing something more radical. Ah, but what... Accosting the politicians everywhere, making a nuisance of yourself? Striking? Taking to the streets is only effective if you make it very, very, very visible to the people you intend to bother. As in.. maybe everyone in BC should hook a plane to Ottawa, and camp at the Prime Minister's doorstep. Say, the night before the HST goes in to effect. Ah, these are still lousy ideas.

Would-be revolutionaries: new strategies, please!

Hoboy.

Before the nonsense, & After the bullshit.


INSERT STUFF HERE

You Missed:


*DISCLAIMER
* WHO TF IS ALL THIS??!
* INTRO, 2
* NAQ

Backlog:



Domicile : Infested - Wednesday, Jan. 08, 2020
Badly type text - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2020
Yet another other entry - Sunday, Dec. 29, 2019
Damn near died - Sunday, Dec. 29, 2019
Boom Shalacka Lacka? - Saturday, Dec. 28, 2019

Circa 2010