Navigation


* Profile
* New
* Old
* First
* Random

Credit


* Host
* Design

And the alien did decree: fascinating and tiresome
12:59 AM - Thursday, Mar. 12, 2020

Before the nonsense, & After the bullshit.

"I Kissed a Girl" -- Katy Perry


Been thinking about LGBT(++++++++) stuff lately.


It seems like it wasn't all that long ago when people gawked at me for the most chase of pecks on a girlfriend's mouth in public. It doesn't seem that long ago that it was ok to publicly shame me for dressing like a dude.

I'm sitting in the middle of a kind of lalaland future after this, where this is briefly allowed; from what I get about rights is they're flexibly taken and given. I don't expect this 'golden era of tolerance' feel to last forever, no.

I've dreaded a "Go back to the kitchen" movement almost as hardcore as one of my friends is convinced women are out to make the world theirs -- conquering, not compromising in to some level of actual equality.

In the current time, as of this writing, my city has a few rainbow crosswalks. But, it wasn't more than 3, 4 years ago a local drag queen had been rejected in town for housing for being open as a performer. What kids these last 5-10 years don't get is how slowly progress started, and how quickly the movement is charging on rapidly -- all of a sudden.

You go from portrayals of gay kids being something like the sidekick guy from "Easy A" to seeing a lot more actually-inclusive, actively less cartoony or lampoonable characters. Gay/trans people are the new "hot" thing to put in media, much like the waves of other minorities got showcased before that.

I feel like the GLBT thing is both fascinating and tiresome. I love the idea of new words to explain all the sexualities and genders that could ever be. But I'm feeling like some times it's hard to accept or even laughable to some what others want/are/would be. But, if it's not hurting me, or others who aren't legally, physically, etc able to consent, what should people care?

^ last sentiment is said around me often.

I wish we could live like the Pierre Trudeau quote that goes something like: "The government has no business in the bedrooms of the nation."

Before the nonsense, & After the bullshit.


INSERT STUFF HERE

You Missed:


*DISCLAIMER
* WHO TF IS ALL THIS??!
* INTRO, 2
* NAQ

Backlog:



final grandparent has died - Friday, Jun. 12, 2020
It's always about meeeeeeeeee - Saturday, Jun. 06, 2020
I'm too tired for this entry - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2020
LIVE THROUGH THIS? - Saturday, Mar. 21, 2020
With a bang, love, 2020 - Friday, Mar. 13, 2020

Circa 2010