Navigation


* Profile
* New
* Old
* First
* Random

Credit


* Host
* Design

And the alien did decree: I need to do laundry...
5:44 PM - Thursday, Jan. 19, 2012

Before the nonsense, & After the bullshit.

Oh, Girl -- Boots Electric

Not much
Is happening, lately.

I'm finding more penpals. I had about 3, I now have 9. I know a girl, in Lithuania, who found 30 penpals in a year. Wow. What did I miss?

I know that this journal is eye-rapingly bright. I think my eyes must be different, because white webpages bother me so much more.

I don't have much on my mind; Cherish is coming over, at 7 PM, and will be inhabiting my computer chair until Sunday. I have about $40 left, until Wednesday, so, we'll probably take a boo over to the grocery store; depends on what we want to eat. I attempted to recreate my mom's apple pie, on the fly, last week. Aside from being overcooked, it was eerily close. I had no idea I had it in me to do a slap-dash pie, and make it be an edible one. I don't follow recipes; well, measurements. I'm fairly good at guessing/eyeballing. As long as I know the method the food is meant to be made by, I'm fairly certain I can wing it.

So, is SOPA/PIPA being voted on/in yet? Megavideo and Megaupload got nixed, my brother says. "And that's my cue to torrent all the shows I like today, and put them on a disk. Well. Many, many disks."

I have a terabyte of random downloads; I seed three files, currently. I'm guessing I'd better pause the seeding. Am I expecting to get charged? Sort of. I've been an avid downloader since 2006-2007 or so. I don't have time/money to get programs and discs to burn off my crap. If I'm caught, I'm caught. I'm also currently living in minor poverty. What can they do, make me even more impoverished? If I go to jail, all that really does for me is give me free food and rent for a while. Maybe a little unwanted sexage. Possibly a crappier selection of books and internet usage. (But, if SOPA/PIPA goes through, what's left on the internet?)

Do I think SOPA/PIPA will pass? Sort of. If it does, it's very One World Order-y. If it doesn't, someone will try again, in the future, to pull this shit. If it does go through, people like the Chans' Anonymous crowd will find little ways around detection, make little secretive hubs for passing information.

Cherish seems to think that in order to access websites, should PIPA pass, we will all need to know sites' IP addresses, instead of www/http stuff. I haven't looked that up yet, but that sounds inane and archaic to me.

I ran in to a nutter at Jay's, who kind of reminded me of me/people I know. He's a flea market/garage sale profiteer, and he's really, really in to Japanese and tabletop games. (Rifts, DnD, Magic...) He gave me some good tips for my Japanese stuff.

I emailed Mike, a photographer I know from Jay's, a while ago. I lost his recommendation for a digital camera/lens. I think he'd said that this particular combination he recommended would be a $300 investment, or so. He hasn't gotten back to me, but barring any disaster, I may put my tax refund to the camera project.

I'm planning to become Cherish's roommate. We started talking about this, about 3 weeks ago. Her whole family is moving out of the place their in, and separating. She'd still like to live with someone, but not them. Her mom needs a break from living with her offspring, and Cherish needs a home where she clashes less. I only hope that I don't end up antagonizing her, as her family has.

"Don't let her take advantage of you," Jay said. "She smokes all your weed, and eats your food. Don't pay for everything." Maybe I've explained our arrangement iffy-y. She'll be buying most of the weed, and we'll be going 1/2-ers on food. But, it is true that I'm the bigger income of the set up.

Wellp. She's coming over in an hour. I've done all I need to do, online.

Before the nonsense, & After the bullshit.


INSERT STUFF HERE

You Missed:


*DISCLAIMER
* WHO TF IS ALL THIS??!
* INTRO, 2
* NAQ

Backlog:



Domicile : Infested - Wednesday, Jan. 08, 2020
Badly type text - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2020
Yet another other entry - Sunday, Dec. 29, 2019
Damn near died - Sunday, Dec. 29, 2019
Boom Shalacka Lacka? - Saturday, Dec. 28, 2019

Circa 2010